The Autonomic Nervous System

imagesCL3MPY0T A part of the nervous system that regulates vital involuntary functions of the body is the activity of the heart muscle, the muscles of the intestinal tract, and the glands. The autonomic nervous system has two divisions: the sympathetic nervous system, which accelerates the heart rate, constricts blood vessels, and raises blood pressure, and the parasympathetic nervous system, which slows the heart rate, increases intestinal and gland activity, and relaxes sphincter muscles.” ( The sympathetic nervous system is the physical effects of the fight or flight response. The parasympathetic system calms the body down and brings it back to its normal function once the threat is over.



One comment

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s